Texas nominates 26 educational institutions for 2021 Nationwide Blue Ribbon Honors, features Spearman ISD | KAMR

TEXAS (KAMR/KCIT) – Governor Greg Abbott and the introduced the nomination of 26 Texas community educational facilities as 2021 Nationwide Blue Ribbon Faculties.

“These 26 universities exemplify educational excellence, and I thank the lecturers, staff, administrators, students, and moms and dads for their exceptional perform,” mentioned Governor Abbott. “We have a duty to ensure that each and every Texas college student graduates with the understanding to realize success in university or a career, which is why past session we handed transformative legislation to invest additional money into our school rooms and give our teachers a pay back increase. This session we will establish on these achievements to make certain that just about every Texas scholar gets a quality schooling regardless of their zip code.”

Defined in the announcement initiated by the U.S. Division of Schooling (USDE) in 1982, the Nationwide Blue Ribbon Faculties software acknowledges community and private elementary, middle, and higher educational facilities that have large university student achievement and/or highlights wherever exemplary development has been manufactured in closing accomplishment gaps amongst pupil subpopulations. Since the program’s founding, 9,000 universities across the country have acquired this designation.

“In the Lone Star Condition, general public educational facilities are regarded for nomination primarily based on college student overall performance on the 1st administration of the former year’s STAAR assessments.” claimed the announcement, “Each nominated faculty has an economically disadvantaged populace of 25 percent or a lot more.”

The nominated educational facilities in Texas for 2021 consist of the pursuing:

Exemplary High-Doing Faculties

  • Pullam Elementary – Brownsville ISD
  • Kathlyn Pleasure Gilliam Collegiate Academy – Dallas ISD
  • Trinidad Garza Early College or university Higher University – Dallas ISD
  • Hawkins Elementary – El Paso ISD
  • Lamar Elementary – El Paso ISD
  • North Houston Early College or university Substantial University – Houston ISD
  • Klondike ISD 
  • Obtain Early College or university Significant College – McAllen ISD
  • Spearman Junior Large – Spearman ISD
  • Youthful Women’s Management Academy – San Antonio ISD
  • South Texas ISD Preparatory Academy  – South Texas ISD
  • South Texas ISD Soaring Scholars Academy – South Texas ISD
  • Ramona Elementary  – Ysleta ISD

Exemplary Achievement-Hole-Closing Schools

  • Atlanta Elementary –  Atlanta ISD
  • A P Beutel Elementary – Brazosport ISD
  • Gallegos Elementary – Brownsville ISD
  • Calder Highway Elementary – Dickinson ISD
  • Clendenin Elementary – El Paso ISD
  • Mitzi Bond Elementary  – El Paso ISD
  • Hidalgo Elementary – Hidalgo ISD
  • Porter Elementary – Mesquite ISD
  • Navarro Elementary – Navarro ISD
  • Zeferino Farias Elementary – Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Valley Mills Elementary – Valley Mills ISD
  • South Loop Elementary – Ysleta ISD
  • Vista Hills Elementary – Ysleta ISD

The nominated educational institutions will now be anticipated to entire an software method carried out by the USDE. Countrywide award winners will be announced in September of 2021. Faculties that obtain the designation are acknowledged at the Blue Ribbon Faculties Awards Ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Additional from MyHighPlains.com: